THE NEWSROOM’s Michael Gunn

news1

Boston University alum Michael Gunn held a showing of The Newsroom season two premiere tonight at the College of Communication and I was lucky enough to attend. Gunn, who networked his way into becoming a production assistant for the show’s pilot back in 2011, has since been promoted to staff writer, and is credited for his work in the show’s second season.

Although I had never seen The Newsroom – or Aaron Sorkin’s other masterpiece, The West Wing – I was amazed by how carefully each scene of the hour long drama was crafted in order to promote active watching. A sitcom like Modern Family will throw a joke at you and you’ll be expected to get it. Sorkin, however, likes to weed out his audience by making them think, and I was amazed to see that this drama was actually hysterical.

And so, I set off on my Sorkin quest. I’ll start with the easy, two seasons of The Newsroom. What will be difficult is the seven seasons of The West Wing – each with a network television drama count of 20+ episodes per season. I’ll keep you posted on my progress, friends. Oh yeah, and midterms are coming… I feel like there should be an HBO related meme for that to close this post:

h8EAE2047

Leave a Reply

